At the historical center of Athens, in Plaka, the Venizelos Mansion or the House of Agia Philothei (Saint Philothei), is the oldest house in Athens.
It is now a museum that opened its doors to the public in February 2017.
In 1972, the building was taken over by the Ministry of Culture, and in 1999 it was given to the Holy Archdiocese of Athens. It was restored and made into a museum by funds from the European Union.
Built in the beginning of the 16th century and renovated at the end of the 17th, it is a characteristic two-storied mansion of the period of the Turkish occupation.
It has a hagiati (roofed verandah) on the floor, arches on the ground floor, and an interior yard with a well, spring and an olive press.
It belonged to Angelos Venizelos, the descendant of an aristocratic family and father of Agia Filothei.
Paraskevi, as was her name, after her brief marriage and widowhood, became a nun and built a monastery near her house, where the Archdiocese of Athens is today. There she martyred and was killed by the Turks.
The museum tells the story of the Venizelos family and Agia Filothei and describes the habits and the traditions of the Athenian aristocracy before the revolution against the Ottoman Empire in 1821.
Visitors can enjoy a walk among the building and discover its interactive digital applications.