Tsipras reshuffles cabinet to appease creditors, retains key ministers

Who’s in, who’s out

Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras reshuffled his cabinet late on Friday, removing ministers who have expressed opposition to the austerity measures and economic measures demanded by Greece’s international creditors, but retaining his ministers of finance and foreign affairs.

The dramatic changes made in what critics have described as a “Troika-friendly” cabinet are seen as a bid to speed up reforms that Athens has committed to under its latest international bailout deal, as well as to bolster the government’s flagging popularity.

Notably, energy minister Panos Skourletis, who opposed the privatization of Greece’s electric power system, was replaced by the more moderate economy minister, Giorgos Stathakis, while labor minister Giorgos Katrougalos, faulted for the slowness of his efforts to reform Greece’s bloated pension scheme, and education and religious affairs minister Nikos Filis, who had had repeated clashes with Archbishop Ieronymos on a range of issues, were also removed. Key aide Dimitris Liakos, who oversaw the prime minister’s economic office, was tapped to supervise the enforcement of Greece’s bailout program.

Other cabinet members who retained their ministries included defense minister Panos Kammenos, foreign minister Nikos Kotzias, tourism minister Elena Kountoura and Migration Minister Yiannis Mouzalas.

The new cabinet, as officially announced on Friday evening at 22:00 by government spokesperson Olga Gerovasili, is as follows:

Prime Minister: Alexis Tsipras

Alternate Prime Minister: Dimitrios Liakos
State Ministers: Alexandros Flambouraris & Christoforos Vernardakis
Government Spokesperson: Dimitrios Tzanakopoulos

Vice President: Ioannis Dragasakis

Ministry of Interior Affairs
Minister: Panagiotis Skourletis
Deputy Minister of Citizens Protection: Nikolaos Toskas
Deputy Minister of Macedonia-Thrace: Maria Kollia-Tsaroucha

Ministry of Finance & Development
Minister: Dimitris Papadimitriou
Deputy Minister: Alexandros Charitsis
Deputy Minister: Stelios Pirtsiolas

Ministry of Digital Policy, Telecommunication & Information

Minister: Nikolaos Pappas

Ministry of National Defence
Minister: Panos Kammenos
Deputy Minister: Dimitris Vitsas

Ministry of Education, Research & Religious Affairs
Minister: Konstantinos Gavroglou
Deputy Research Minister: Konstantinos Fotakis

Deputy: Dimitris Baxevanakis
Deputy: Konstantinos Zouraris

Ministry of Labor, Social Security & Social Solidarity                                          

Minister: Efi Achtsioglou
Alternative Minister for Unemployment: Ourania Andonopoulou
Alternative Minister for Social Solidarity: Theano Fotiou
Deputy Minister for Social Security: Anastasios Petropoulos

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Minister: Nikolaos Kotzias
Alternative Minister for European Affairs: Giorgos Katrougalos
Deputy  Minister: Ioannis Amantidis
Deputy Minister for Greeks of the Diaspora: Terence Spencer Quick

Ministry of Justice, Transparency & Human Rights

Minister: Stavros Kontonis
Deputy Minister:Dimitris Papangelopoulos

Ministry of Finance
Minister: Euclid Tsakalotos
Deputy Minister: George Chouliarakis
Deputy Minister: Katerina Papanatsiou

Ministry of Health

 Minister: Andreas Xanthos
Deputy: Pavlos Polakis

Ministry of Restructure & Administration
Minister: Olga Gerovasili

Ministry of Culture & Sports

Minister: Lydia Koniordou
Deputy Sports Minister: George Vasileiadis

Ministry of the Environment & Energy

Minister: George Stathakis
Deputy Minister: Socrates Famelos

Ministry of Infrastructure & Transport
Minister: Christos Sprintzis
Deputy Minister: Nikolaos Mavrogiannis

Ministry of Migration Policy
Minister: Ioannis Mouzalas
Deputy Minister: Ioannis Balafas

Ministry of Shipping & Island Policy
Minister: Panagiotis Kouroumblis
Deputy Minister: Nektarios Santorinios

Ministry of Agricultural Development & Food

Minister: Evangelos Apostolou
Alternate Minister: Ioannis Tsironis
Deputy Minister: Vasilios Kokkalis

Ministry of Tourism
Minister: Elena Koundoura

The swearing-in ceremony is scheduled to take place today at 13:00.