EU Ministers approve refugee relocation plan

Slovakia says it will not implement the plan

EU Minister of Justice and Interior approved a plan on the relocation of 120,000 refugees and immigrants from Greece, Italy and Hungary to other EU member-states during their extra ordinary session in Brussels, Tuesday. The EU countries reached a majority agreement as Ministers from the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Romania and Hungary voted against the proposed redistribution plan. Poland who had initially expressed reservations against the quota system finally voted in favour, while Finland abstained. According to sources, the first phase of the plan provides for the relocation of 50,400 asylum seekers from Greece to other EU member-states and 15.600 from Italy, while during the second phase a further 54,000 from both countries will be processed to other EU countries. Meanwhile, the Prime Minister of Slovakia, Robert Fico made it abundantly clear that his country would not implement the plan, as long as he was Prime Minister.

refug1 refug2