AEK Athens are football champions after 24 years!

It is the club’s 12th title

AEK Athens have been crowned Greek football champions after 24 years! The Athenian club, who only needed a draw to clinch the title, defeated Levadiakos (2-0) at the OAKA stadium before an ecstatic home crowd of 60,000 fans who had been in a celebratory mood all Sunday waiting for the moment their players would cross the finish line first. For the record, Bakasetas scored a brace (12’ and 32) to make it 2-0. AEK had won 11 Greek league titles trailing Olympiakos and Panathinaikos in the most titled won. It should be noted that there is a pending decision by the  Greek football federation (EPO) appeals committee on the outcome of the match between PAOK and AEK at Toumba stadium which might affect the outcome (for now).