New Greek cabinet announced (video)

PM Tsipras hopes to speed up second review

The new Greek government was announced by spokesperson Olga Gerovasili, Friday at 10pm. Minister of Education Nikos Filis was left out of the new government, paying the price for his open disagreement with the head the Greek Orthodox Church, Archbishop of Athens Ieronymos. Dimitris Papadimitriou, from the Levy Institute took over the Ministry of Finance and Development, while Kostas Zouaris from the minor coalition party ANEL will assume the post of Deputy Minister of Education and Religious Affairs, while his fellow MP Vasilis took over as Deputy Minister for Agricultural Development and Food. The decision to for a cabinet reshuffle is seen as an attempt by PM Tsipras to expedite the course of the second review and a facelift in the light of slumping popularity in the polls. This is the 3rd cabinet under PM Alexis Tsipras:

Prime Minister: Alexis Tsipras

Government Vice-President: Yiannis Dragasakis

Interior Ministry

Interior Minister: Panos Skourletis

Alternate Minister for Civil Protection: Nikos Toskas

Deputy Minister for Macedonia-Thrace: Maria Kollia-Tsarouha

Economy and Development Ministry

Minister: Dimitris Papadimitriou

Alternate Minister: Alexis Charitsis

Deputy Minister: Stergios Pitsiorlas

Digital Policy, Telecommunications and Media Ministry

Minister: Nikos Pappas

National Defence Ministry

Minister: Panos Kammenos

Alternate Minister: Dimitris Vitsas

Education, Research and Religions Ministry

Minister: Kostas Gavroglou

Alternate Minister for Research: Kostas Fotakis

Deputy Minister: Dimitrios Baxevanakis

Deputy Minister: Konstantinos Zouraris

Labour, Social Insurance and Social Solidarity Ministry

Minister: Efi Ahtsioglou

Alternate Minister for Combatting Unemployment: Rania Antonopoulou

Alternate Minister for Social Solidarity: Theano Fotiou

Deputy Minister for Social Insurance: Anastasios Petropoulos

Foreign Ministry

Minister: Nikos Kotzias

Alternate Minister for European Affairs: George Katrougalos

Deputy Foreign Minister: Ioannis Amanatidis

Deputy Foreign Minister for Greek Diaspora: Terens Quick

Justice, Transparency and Human Rights Ministry

Minister: Stavros Kontonis

Alternate Minister: Dimitris Papangelopoulos

Finance Ministry

Minister: Euclid Tsakalotos

Alternate Finance Minister: Giorgos Chouliarakis

Deputy Finance Minister: Katerina Papanatsiou

Health Ministry

Minister: Andreas Xanthos

Alternate Minister: Pavlos Polakis

Administrative Reconstruction Ministry

Minister: Olga Gerovasili

Culture and Sports Ministry

Minister: Lydia Koniordou

Deputy Minister for Sports: Giorgos Vasiliadis

Environment and Energy Ministry

Minister: Giorgos Stathakis

Alternate Minister: Sokratis Famelos

Infrastructure and Transports Ministry

Minister: Christos Spirtzis

Deputy Minister: Nikolaos Mavraganis

Migration Policy Ministry

Minister: Yiannis Mouzalas

Deputy Minister: Ioannis Balafas

Shipping, Transport and Island Policy Ministry

Minister: Panagiotis Kouroumblis

Deputy Minister: Nektarios Sandorinios

Rural Development and Foods Ministry

Minister: Vangelis Apostolou

Alternate Minister: Ioannis Tsironis

Deputy Minister: Vasilis Kokkalis

Tourism Ministry

Minister: Elena Kountoura

Minister of State: Alexandros Flambouraris

Minister of State: Christoforos Vernardakis

Deputy Minister to the Prime Minister: Dimitrios Liakos

Minister of State and Government spokesman: Dimitris Tzanakopoulos

Parliament President: Nikos Voutsis

The members of the new cabinet will be sworn in at 3:00 on Saturday.