Greece and Cyprus among 10 countries reinstated in Covid-19 restrictive list for Finland

Norway could follow suit

Finland has reinstated Covid-19 travel restrictions from August 24 for 10 countries, including Greece and Cyprus.

In particular, as announced on Wednesday, travel to Finland from Iceland, Greece, Malta, Norway, Denmark, Ireland, Cyprus, San Marino and Japan will be limited to the necessary from 24 August, with those returning from these countries being placed under quarantine for two weeks, said Maria Ohisalo, Minister of the Interior.

Finland had already reduced travel to and from most countries in the world as the government had set a cap of 8-10 new cases per 100,000 inhabitants on the list of safe destinations for the country.

also read

Sizzling hot Lucia loves the Greek islands (photos-videos)

Greek-French joint Air Force exercise between Cyprus and Kastellorizo sends message to Turkey (photos)

Finland’s Covid-19 aggregate number for a 14-day period per 100,000 inhabitants rose to 5.2 on Tuesday, one of the lowest rates in Europe, according to the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control.

Norway might also implement a similar decision in the coming days.